The Eisner Winners

The Eisner Awards were announced at this weekend's San Diego Comic-Con. I was thrilled that ComicBook Resources, which is one of the publications I write for, received its second Eisner in three years for "Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism." With luck Jonah will bring the statuette with him to the NY Comic Con this year so I can hold it.

Some winners - like Dave Stewart for Best Colorist and Todd Klein for Best Lettering - are old favorites who have won a great many awards over the years

I'm also excited that many of the people whose work I love (and often, have interviewed) won various awards.

Mike Mignola won for best single issue and best cover artist
Scott Snyder's American Vampire won for best new series
Karl Kerchl's The Abominable Charles Christopher won best digital comic
Wilson by Daniel Clowes shared the award for Best Graphic Album - new
Joe Hill won best writer
Raina Telgemeier won Best publication for teens for Smile

Other winners include the great Jacques Tardi, Dave Stevens' The Rocketeer: Artists Edition, Chew, Daytripper, and Blacksad's Juanjo Guarnido.

No comments:

Post a Comment